Their are a few NCAA most valuable player awards and the John R. Wooden award, named after the legendary UCLA coach, usually seen as the biggest. The Mid-Season Top 25 list was announced with these names:

Anthony Bennett, UNLV

Laurence Bowers, Missouri

Trey Burke, Michigan

Isaiah Canaan, Murray State

Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse

Jack Cooley, Notre Dame

Seth Curry, Duke

Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State

Erick Green, Virginia Tech

Elias Harris, Gonzaga

Pierre Jackson, Baylor

Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

CJ McCollum, Lehigh

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Ben McLemore, Kansas

Brandon Paul, Illinois

Mason Plumlee, Duke

Otto Porter, Georgetown

Phil Pressey, Missouri

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Russ Smith, Louisville

DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State

Jeff Withey, Kansas

Nate Wolters, South Dakota State

Cody Zeller, Indiana


The only two players on the list who were Wooden All-American’s last season were Isaiah Canaan and Doug McDermott. Three freshman were chosen with Anthony Bennett, Ben McLemore and Marcus Smart garnering notice. The list will be trimmed to 10 during the Elite 8 weekend with the winner announced during the weekend of the Final Four. Here is what NCAA Daily predicts as the 10 man Wooden All-American team:

  • Doug McDermott
  • Trey Burke
  • Cody Zeller
  • Mason Plumlee
  • Michael Carter-Williams
  • Deshaun Thomas
  • Laurence Bowers
  • Pierre Jackson
  • Jeff Withey
  • Anthony Bennett

My ommission of Isaiah Canaan is due to Murray State not having the same type of season as last year. Others who were close to the top 10 were Jamaal Franklin, Brandon Paul, Nate Wolters, Marcus Smart and Ben McLemore. In a sign that the conference still has a little ways to go, the Pac-12 did not have a single top 25 selection. Also, nobody ranked within the top 5 during the final 2012 HS rankings made the cut for the Midseason Wooden list.