This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by AvatarAvatar jas225 12 years, 8 months ago.

• Author
    jas225
    Participant

I decided to participate the forum season preview.  I think it is a great idea. Don’t hate as I’ve never written up a season preview before.  I might have missed some things or messed some things up.  I hope this tells you something you didn’t know about the Pitt team this year.  Let me know if you have any questions after reading this, and I’ll try to answer.  Enjoy

Pittsburgh Panthers:

The Panthers are coming of yet another disappointing early exit in the NCAA’s after a great regular season winning the big east regular season.  They lose three starters in Mcghee, Brown, and Wannamaker.  It will be another reload season as they can be expected to finish around the top 3 in the big east, similar to the season after they lost Blair, Young, Biggs, and Fields.  Who knows how far they will advance in the tourney (don’t bet too much on them), but they should receive a good seed.  They pride themselves on D’ing you up, and are completely fine with playing in close games.

Point Guard:  Isaiah Epps comes off a redshirt year.  Incoming freshman John Johnson arrives out of Philly, and Redshirt Junior Travon Woodall is there too.  I’ll start with Woodall.  He still isn’t asserting himself like he has the potential to.  By now a lot of us Pitt fans thought he would be cutting up the D and dishing out assists as a stud PG.  He showed some flashes last year and is very quick, but I am hearing he hasn’t progressed that much over the summer.  John Johnson was one of the leading scorers in the Pittsburgh Pro-Am summer league and is looking like the next gritty point guard for Pitt.  Epps is more of a scorer with a lefty fine touch from three.  His downfall to this point has been being able to stay in front of quick guards, and Jamie prides on defense.